top of page

Simple Things That Can Change Your Life

There are a multitude of things that can alter your life. I'm not going to say that these things will change your life forever, because the only constant in life is change. I hope that at least one of these things can improve your life. Ipersonally integrate these things into my daily life and I feel better because of them.

Map out a morning routine that you genuinely want to do.

We are habitual creatures. We love spontanuety, but in order to enjoy these moments we must first be comfortable. By making a morning routine we enter the day comfortabley, in an orderly fashion. For example, my morning routine is to have a great big glass of water, get dressed and go for a run.

Make it something that you enjoy and are genuinely excited to wake up for. I love my morning routine so much that I get super bummed when it is raining and I can't go for my morning run. You may enjoy yoga, sitting down to a cup of tea and reading your favourite magazine, listening to music while you get dressed, or cooking your favourite breakfast. It can be anything!

Drink more water.

I cannot emphasise this enough OMG! I personally carry around this 1L coconut oil jar filled with water while I'm at home. I refill it so many times - I can probably say that I drink upwards of 4L a day.

Water is essential for the proper circulation of nutrients. Without enough water our body can't provide nutrients to certain parts of the body. That's why we get sluggish and light headed when we are dehydrated.

Wear perfume.

This is a strange one, but I truly believe that smelling good is the first thing that someone notices about you when you talk to them. No one wants to smell unhygenic - sometimes you can't help it (hot, steamy days anyone?). But nothing beats hugging somone with an edible floral scent. You feel more confident with the notion that you smell damn good, and so you don't waste time secretly trying to catch a wiff of yourself.

Get to know those around you.

They won't be around forever! Make meaningful connections with. By meaningful connectiosn I am not putting my unhappy granny voice and and telling you to get your face out of your phone. By meaningful connections I mean truly listening to the people around you.

Sing.

Sing to anyone and everyone. I am known for my random moments of bursting out into song lyrics in the middle of a conversation. When you're walking hum along to a song you have in your head. It instantly makes you feel lighter and lifts your mood. It also makes the people around you join in and laugh.

You don't have to be Adele or James Blunt, sing in whatever style you want (yodelling?!). Singing in a dramatic way, making it purposefully sound bad,

Smile at people you walk by on the streets.

Do you look at every place other than the persons face that is walking past you on the pathway? I used to do that also, until I realised that I will likely never see that person again, so it doesn't matter what they think of me. So in that case, if I can get that person to smile, even if they don't remember me, I could potentially brighten their day. I think that is the coolest thing! Showing your teeth, turning your lips up in a curvature, and they mimic you.

And there you have it. Six simple things that can snowball your life in an upwards direction. Try these things and tell me what you think in the comments below! What do you do that improves your life?

Sio xoxo


SIOBHAN'S HACKS FOR LIFE

#1 

Always smile. Even when you feel like you can't, just force yourself. 

 

#2

Speak to as many people you can! There are so many humans that have such diverse stories to offer you. Find them.

 

#3

Always dress with style. Adorning yourself with clothes and accessaries you find attractive make you feel confident!

 

#4

Always be kind to your fellow humans. You never know what they are going through. Plus, an opportunity to create relationships. 

 

bottom of page