top of page

DIY: Shaving Butter


I think I may have scared my parents tonight... I ran out of my bathroom yelling about how I had just had the most amazing shaving experience of my entire life! Some obscenity along those lines anyway.

I’m not sure - am I the only one that has to mentally prepare myself before I have a shower, just so I can be prepared for all the work I have to do? Exfoliating, shaving, washing my hair, cleansing my face… Ugh, excuse me while I go reach enlightenment before having enough strength to accomplish this task dear readers. After creating this shaving butter, I was so excited to use it that I completely missed out on all the drama before taking a shower.

In all honesty I set out to make this post about how I had flawlessly created a simple recipe for body butter… But yeah, I put honey in this recipe because I refused to use essential oils (I find these super strong smelling!), and at the time honey seemed like a good idea at the time to create a gorgeous smell. But then it kinda occurred to me that the honey wouldn’t absorb like a lotion would… So instead, a perfect product for shaving was created!

But oh man! It is heavenly. The aroma that was created in the kitchen while making it, was incredible. It is 100% whole-heartedly good for your body. There are no harsh chemicals coating your body after usage and it leaves your skin nourished and silky smooth! It is beauty in a bottle - or jar if you are like me and have an obsession with glass jars…

In all seriousness, let me share with you this gorgeous gift. It is the latest addition to my beauty fam - shaving butter! I am not sure if this is a legit thing in the world (By ‘legit' I mean you probably wouldn’t find this kind of shaving butter in the supermarket shelves). But here it is anyway!

Enjoy this uber luxurious Shaving Butter!

Ingredients:

1 cup Coconut Oil

1 cup Cacao Butter

1 tablespoon Raw Honey

Yes really - three ingredients. It is that easy!

You are most humbly welcome my dear reader.

Method:

1. In a saucepan combine all ingredients together until completely melted.

2. Place melted mixture into a mixing bowl and allow to thicken in the fridge for an hour or two.

3. Once thick, use an electric beater to whip the shaving butter; just like whipping cream!

4. Once fluffy and stiffish peaks begin to form, spoon mixture into a jar.

5. To store, place in the fridge.

Notes: Instead of honey, you can replace this with whatever you wish! Essential oils like lavender or Rose are a beautiful accompaniment for this recipe.

How to use:

First off, make sure whatever you're shaving is clean! Scoop a generous heap of shaving butter up in your fingers and spread across your legs - or whatever. Trust me, it feels so luxuriously silky! I am pretty sure you know what to do here - shave away!

Take your shower now and wash the shaving lotion away. It will stay on your body even after your wash - this is good! The last part of the shaving butter will stay on your body, hydrating your skin and keeping it super smooth.

Side Note:

If you do not have a mega jar of Coconut oil stock piled in your pantry, I seriously reccomend you go out and find some! It will change your life - there are so many things that I use it for. Most of the creations I make contain coconut oil in it in some form or another...

You can generally find it in health food stores, and I notice the Supermarkets are now stocking jars - so go get you hands on them now!

Also, see how it says tasteless on the packaging? Yeah, it has a taste - but it is a beautiful taste, i assure you! It is different to other oils. Try it for me, yeah?

Sio xoxo


SIOBHAN'S HACKS FOR LIFE

#1 

Always smile. Even when you feel like you can't, just force yourself. 

 

#2

Speak to as many people you can! There are so many humans that have such diverse stories to offer you. Find them.

 

#3

Always dress with style. Adorning yourself with clothes and accessaries you find attractive make you feel confident!

 

#4

Always be kind to your fellow humans. You never know what they are going through. Plus, an opportunity to create relationships. 

 

bottom of page